Got mine from banggood - good or bad

Hi guys,
I ordered mine from banggood.com - estimote
and it arrived in a flimsy plastic bag. It had absolutely no instructions. Do you think they are selling used estimote beacons that are impossible to transfer?

Hi @dev_tester,

have you tried to connect to your beacon with the Android Estimote app’ (iOS here)?
Can the app’ see the beacons?

Hi @Ximun,
Yes I tried but the radar simply kept spinning. I tried with the beacon upright in case it was in power saving mode. I also noticed that the front clicks like a button so I clicked it once then twice. I also held the button down and an LED lit up. Then I released. I also rebooted my phone. I was almost about to open it but decided against it.

Do you have any suggestions?

It seems that you have an Location beacon with a but and a LED? I only have Proximity beacons…

I have the Estimote Beacon Type Bluetooth 4.0 Module NRF51822 Chipset IBeacon with Silicon Case

I’m really new to this so I don’t know the difference between the different models but if you click on the link in my original post, it will take you to all the specs. It is a blue rock beacon.

So this may be interesting. I downloaded a BLE detection app on my android device and both the Estimote and the Nordic IBeacon Sticker CC2640 where visible including their services. I then downloaded Evo Things Studio, went through the rigmarole of installing the viewer app and then I used their BLE scanner app and BLE Discovery app and both located the beacons. When I run the Eddystone Scan app it messages

Please move within range of Eddystone beacons.

which are right in front of me. So, reading the instructions I am instructed to perform an over-the-air firmware update in order to enable Eddystone protocol. But how do I do that if Estimote Cloud does not know about my device?

Hey,

the Estimote app’ recognizes the Estimote beacons with the ConfigurableDevice packets that are emitted.