Indoor location on locked device (iOS)

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to the Estimote indoor location API, but am already quite impressed with what is possible.

Anyway, I’m trying to build an app which tracks at which workstation a user is working. I’ve already mapped our office using 6 beacons and am now trying to have the app report at which workstation the user is working.

However, I can’t seem to get the current (x,y) position for the user when the device is locked (the updates from IndoorLocationManager stop). I found an old thread which mentioned that this might not be possible, is this still true? And would it be possible to enable position updates on a locked device?

My use case has workstations spaced apart ±2 meters, which is why I want to use indoor location, instead of simple ranging, as I understood that indoor location is most likely more accurate(?). The tracking should be non intrusive, i.e. the user should just be able to keep the iPhone in his/her pocket. Also impact on battery life is not much of an issue for this case.

TL;DR: Is there a possibility to track indoor location on a locked device?

Thanks in advance,

In fact, it is!

Two caveats:

• It works only with our brand new Location Beacons, since we’re using one of the new Estimote packets we introduced in firmware 4.x, and at this time, only Location Beacons are compatible with firmware 4.x.

• In the background, we don’t have all the access to sensors and very responsive Bluetooth scanning methods that we do in the foreground, so the accuracy is slightly less.

Would love to know your thoughts and feedback about this feature!

Thanks for your kind and quick reply!

Could you comment on the loss of accuracy? What would be the best case and typical accuracy?