Hot to add arbitrary data to beacons?

Hello,
I am new to Estimote beacons platform but I’ve played with beacons from other vendors. I am trying to add arbitrary data to beacons (that I just purchased) and retrieve /fetch the values from an Android app. For example, consider a beacon with UUID “ABC” has data “paintingName=Monalisa” (key/value pair). One way is to maintain a SQLite database within the app, but what if the beacon is moved to another painint, I want a way I can configure the beacon in Estimore cloud and the new values can then be retrieved by the app. How can this be done?

In the recent past, I have done the same using other beacons. Arbitrary data in the cloud back-end is created as key/value pairs and OEMs Android SDK provides nifty API methods to retrieve their values. I’ll appreciate if someone can shed some light on this.

Thanks

Our cloud at this time doesn’t offer the key-value storage. There’s already a ton of beacon-specific content management systems, and generic “Backed as a Service” platforms, so we didn’t want to reinvent the wheel, and instead focus on what we do best: beacon hardware, software, SDKs, fleet management for large-scale deployments, etc.

I suggest you take a look at Parse, one of the most renowned BaaS platforms:
https://www.parse.com

They have great quick-start resources, an iOS SDK, and a free tier, so you should be able to get up and running in no time.

Thanks for sharing your perspective. But, I don’t quite agree with your opinion. Attaching data to beacons is a critical function for any provider, not “reinventing the wheel”. If the concept of attaching data to beacons was reinvention, Google would not have made attachment endpoints available in Google Proximity API.

https://developers.google.com/beacons/proximity/attachments