Looking for beginner help

Hello,

Although I have some scripting experience I’m new to estimote beacons and developing for Android. I work at a University and what we are looking to do is use estimote beacons to push out (or advertise) a URL to android devices. The Beacons will be kept in specific lecture spaces with the idea that depending on what subject is being taught and at specific times, URL information to the subject being taught will be pushed out to the devices.

I’ve looked at Eddystone-URL. Although it seems to work great, the issue we have is that the URL will be behind authentication. Looking at online resources Eddystone-URL wont be an option because of this. I’m thinking what I need so I can get started is the following :

1 - How to access a website behind authentication.
2 - Being able to programmatically change the URL (perhaps through some kind of API?) remotely for specific beacons (and at certain days / times).

To add something else into the mix, the beacons we have are quite old (estimote beacons - hardware version D), and not proximity beacons. Taking into consideration the use case above, I can always recommend to the owners of the service that we purchase proximity beacons if I can put forward a case that they would make achieving the above easier?

Can anyone possibly point me in the right direction of how I could get started with this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

If you’re looking to do this with the Nearby service built into Android, then yes, I don’t think that’ll work out. Nearby requires that Google’s crawler can access the website. Maybe you could have a publicly-available landing page, and only redirect to the password-protected section after a click?