Live tracking in a building (Post Occupancy)

Hi guys

I am relatively new to this but found the Beacons extremely interesting with what they can achieve. I am in my final year in college and I heard about these beacons on a local social network and thought these would be a brilliant asset to what I am looking to achieve. My goal is to use these Beacons to track peoples movement around a building for a set period of time. this information would be used as a post occupancy survey of the building. Currently im in the early stages of research and was wondering if you guys could help me with a few things.

Is there an app already out there that can track peoples whereabouts and report back to me there daily route in a graph form. I do understand there would be privacy issues but i will solve that problem at a later stage.

Also is it possible to achieve what I am aiming for? if so would you recommend both the beacons and the stickers? I am not sure on what I would need to achieve my goal.

Thank you for your time everyone and also thanks for all your information you can share with me.

Hi there,

If you’re looking for tracking occupancy and presence, then I think Robin will do just fine. They build smart office software with beacons: https://robinpowered.com/

If you need detailed route-tracking, then I guess you’ll need to create your own app with our Indoor Location SDK, which was built for mapping indoor spaces and building location-based services on top of these maps. You can read more on Estimote Developer Portal: http://developer.estimote.com/indoor/

Cheers.

Thank you for the reply.