Identify when user reach CLProximityImmediate in background

Hi,
I have done an iOS project, which is triggering local notification whenever user come near a beacon, which we configured in cloud.estimote.com

I used startMonitoringForRegion method, and the app is calling didEnterRegion properly, even when the app is in background.

Now, we are going to change the way user getting local notification. The notification have to get triggered only when the user reaches very nearby ie) CLProximityImmediate

And i also want it to work in background, and even when the app is not running in background as well.

I studied about startRangingBeaconsInRegion method. But i've heard that it will not work in background/app not running mode.

After didEnterRegion delegate method did call, i have plan to call startRangingBeaconsInRegion and wait for device to come to CLProximityImmediate. Is it the proper way to do this? Will startRangingBeaconsInRegion keep ranging for beacons in background mode till user reaches CLProximityImmediate?

How can i achieve this?
Can you please guide me?

Thank you.

Or changing just the range of the beacon from 73m to a a fewer inch will work?

Please advice, Thank you.

Yup, I'd start with changing the broadcasting power of the beacon to the minimum value.

Note that when didEnterRegion wakes the app, by default it only gets about 10 seconds of background execution time. In iOS 8, you can extend this up to 3 minutes by starting a background task. Then you ranging + check for CLProximityImmediate should work just fine.

When i set power to maximum value, i will get didEnterRegion called when user is in the range of about 73m. If i change the power to very minimum value, when will i get didEnterRegion method called? around 10m or something like that?

It should be around 3 meters.

Ok,
One more question.

I have done an iOS project.