Safe to continuously power the LTE Beacon

I’ve got a high power application for the LTE beacons, via the default battery we’re seeing around ~3 days battery life but need to get it to ~14 days to be safe.

If we connect an always on powerbank, is this acceptable? Alternatively I was thinking of wiring in a higher capacity battery.

I’m not an electrical engineer, so from my limited experiences and reading of Arduino forums this is OK as long as the Beacon has the correct charging circuitry.

In my personal opinion keeping devices constantly connected to a charger is not a good idea. I kept my laptop always connected to a charger and batteries bulged, twice. Now I always disconnect my devices from a charger when I’m not around.

Some of the power banks them turn themselves off when they detect that current is too low which usually happens when beacon’s internal battery gets fully charged and device enters sleep cycle.

Beacon was designed as a device with integrated battery and its parameters are hard coded into firmware and device is tested with that particular battery type. Changing it might lead to some unexpected behaviors like: wrong battery level readouts, shutting device off when there is plenty of energy left, device rebooting during some operations, etc. Also installing a new battery will require disassembling the device which might damage it in the process.

If it helps any. I have taken one of the LTE beacons apart and disconnected the battery then used the USB-C connection to a MS surface pro power brick without any problems. The developer pack has two beacons: one to take apart and use for development (like: what’s it made of and how does it work?) and then use the other for testing and deployment of your prototype that you’ve built on the first one that’s now in bits.