Receive iBeacons notifications in every two minutes while in the range

I’m really really new to this iBeacon thing. I was able to create a sample app to receive notifications from iBeacons and it is working fine. What I need to know is, can we send notifications according to a defined time (e.g. 2 minutes) for a particular iBeacon while the device is in that Beacon region? If so how can we do that?

At the moment I’m receiving notifications only when the device enter to the Beacon region and exit from the Beacon region. How I test the exit scenario is removing the battery from the Beacon.

I’m testing with this iPhone 5S (iOS version 9.3)

Thanks

In your “didEnter” event, you can schedule the notification to happen not immediately, but two minutes from now. And in case the user leaves the region before the notification is shown, you can cancel it in “didExit”.

Code snippet here:

var notification: UILocalNotification?

func beaconManager(manager: AnyObject, didEnterRegion region: CLBeaconRegion) {
    self.notification = UILocalNotification()
    notification.alertBody = "Hello, world!"
    notification.fireDate = NSDate(timeIntervalSinceNow: 120)
    UIApplication.sharedApplication().scheduleLocalNotification(self.notification)
}

func beaconManager(manager: AnyObject, didExitRegion region: CLBeaconRegion) {
    UIApplication.sharedApplication().cancelLocalNotification(self.notification)
}

@heypiotr thanks for the reply but the solution given by you is nothing to do with Beacons related coding, it is a way of delaying local notifications.

Another point is, what I have asked is getting notified in every 2 minutes while the device is in the Beacon range. As you suggest, your solution is valid only the device is exit from the region and enter back to the region only.

I found some different solution while digging in to the Estimote documentations. That is,

self.utilityManager.startEstimoteBeaconDiscoveryWithUpdateInterval(120)